ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee meeting formed new Secretary-general and President

15-02-2015Source:China Meteorological News Press

Group photo of participants  

On 9-13 February 15, The Third Joint Session of the ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee (TC) and WMO/ESCAP Panel on Tropical Cyclones (PTC) (corresponding to the 47th and the 42nd Sessions of TC and PTC, respectively) was held in Bangkok, Thailand. The Session is being convened by the Typhoon Committee and the Panel on Tropical Cyclones under the auspices of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), with the kind support of the ESCAP. Deputy Administrator of China Meteorological Administration (CMA) Jiao MeiYan led the Chinese delegation to attend the session. Shun-ichi Murata, Deputy Executive Secretary of ESCAP made the speech.

Mr Yu Jixin, from China Meteorological Administration (CMA) was appointed as the Secretary-general of the Typhoon Committee Secretariat. Mr Alui Bahari, Deputy Administrator of Malaysia Meteorological Department was elected as the President of Typhoon Committee.

Jiao Meiyan, expressed gratitude to Mr Olavo Rasquinho for his contribution as Secretary-general of Typhoon Committee. China will continue to support the work of Typhoon Committee and I believe Mr Yu Jixin will make fresh contribution to the international cooperation in typhoon field and capacity building of members, said Jiao.

The meeting confirmed the working plan and budget in 2015 of working groups of meteorology, hydrology, and reducing disaster risks. The super typhoon in Rammasun, the No. 9 typhoon of 2014, was removed from the typhoon name list for its devastating capacity. (Feb. 15)

Reporter Yu Jun 
Editor Hao Jing