Chinese delegation attended the 50th session of Typhoon Committee

01-03-2018Source:China Meteorological News Press

On 28th February 2018, the 50th session of ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee (TC) was held in Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam. Ms. Liu Yaming, Administrator of China Meteorological Administration (CMA) led the Chinese delegation to the session. Mr. Tran Hong Ha, Minister of Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment (MONRE) of Vietnam, Mr. Petteri Taalas, Secretary-General of World Meteorological Organization (WMO), Mr.Kaveh Zahedi, Deputy Executive Secretary of ESCAP, Mr. Yu Jixin, Secretary of TC and others attended the session and made speeches.

Ms Liu Yaming made a keynote speech at the high level session. She introduced China's practices in disasters prevention and mitigation, the achievements of China's meteorological modernization, the "Belt and Road" initiative and the cooperative achievement with other countries. She reviewed the cooperative history between China and the TC. She said, China will continue to attach importance to regional typhoon cooperation, and jointly improve typhoon disasters prevention capabilities with all TC members by means of actively participating in the TC cooperative projects, opening and sharing typhoon forecasting technique and Fengyun meteorological satellite data, and further strengthening and expanding international education and training.

After this session, in terms of how to enhance further cooperation, Ms Liu Yaming exchanged views with Mr. Tran Hong Ha, Mr. Petteri Taalas, Kaveh Zahedi, and other leaders of meteorological departments, respectively.

In this session, Le Cong Thanh, the Director General of National Hydro-Meteorological Service of Vietnam was elected as the chairman of new TC session, and Yu Yong, Deputy Administrator of CMA was elected as vice chairman.

TC is an inter-governmental body organized under the joint auspices of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) in 1968 in order to promote and coordinate the planning and implementation of measures required for minimizing the loss of life and material damage caused by typhoons in Asia and the Pacific. There are 14 Members in the Committee including China; Hong Kong, China; Japan; the Republic of Korea; Lao PDR; the Philippines; Thailand; Cambodia; Malaysia; Vietnam; Macao, China; People’s Democratic Republic of Korea; Singapore and the USA.(Mar.1)

Editor Hao Jing