Home > News

​The 55th Session of ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee opened, Duan Yihong elected as the Secretary and SMG conferred with Dr. Kintanar Award

Source:China Meteorological New Press16-03-2023

On March 7, ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee (hereafter referred to as TC), was opened online on March 7. Mr. Zhang Zuqiang, Deputy Administrator of China Meteorological Administration (CMA) led the Chinese delegation composed of experts from Ministry of Emergency Management, Ministry of Water Resources, and CMA to attend the meeting.

This meeting encompasses topics like the election of new chairperson and vice chairperson of TC, announcement of the new Secretary of TC Secretariat, review of all work progresses in 2022, and formulation of work plans in 2023 and the follow-up period. Official and experts from ESCAP, WMO and TC in areas like meteorology, hydrology, and disaster preparedness consulted on relevant topics. The meeting announced that Dr. Duan Yihong from CMA was elected as the Secretary of TC Secretariat, and Macao Meteorological and Geophysical Bureau (SMG) was conferred with Dr. Kintanar Award.

Zhang Zuqiang extended his gratitude to Mr. Yu Jixin for his outstanding work as the Secretary of TC Secretariat, and anticipated that Dr. Duan Yihong would open a new chapter for TC. He also congratulated on the newly elected chairperson and vice chairperson. He expressed that China would strengthen all-round cooperation with TC, jointly promote the implementation of TC’s strategic plan under the United Nations Early Warnings for All initiative, so as to contribute to the wellbeing of people in Asia-Pacific region.

TC Secretariat will reinforce exchanges with ESCAP, WMO, and academic and scientific institutions from Asia-Pacific region, share typhoon disaster prevention approaches and technologies with TC members, and contribute to regional disaster reduction and mitigation.

Editor: Liu Shuqiao